Buhari Appoints 4 New Supreme Court Judges


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of four Supreme Court Judges, all who are from the Northern part of the country.

Chief Justice of Nigeria, Tanko Muhammad, made the announcement in a statement, adding that those appointed include Hon. Justice Tijjani Abubakar (North-East Zone), Hon. Justice Mohammed L. Garba (North-West Zone), Hon. Justice Abdu Aboki (North-West Zone), Hon. Justice Mohammed M. Saulawa.

Three heads of court, 11 judges for state high courts and four Kadis of Sharia Court of Appeal were also appointed.

News Desk gathered that in October 2019, the National Judicial Council recommended the appointment of four justices of the Court of Appeal as justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria but President Buhari refused to forward their names to the Supreme Court for confirmation due to a reason best Known to him.

One of the newly confirmed judges, Justice Mohammed Garba, headed the 2019 Presidential Election Petition Tribunal.

No More APC, What Is Left Is Respect For Buhari – Rochas

A founding member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and former governor of Imo State, Rochas Okorocha, has said that Read more

Edo 2020: Atiku Tackle Buhari Over Police Siege On Wike

Atiku Abubakar, former vice president, has reacted to the police siege on Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, who is currently Read more

Femi Adesina To Soyinka: Nigeria More Divided Under Jonathan Than Buhari

Femi Adesina, Special Adviser on Media and Publicity to President Muhammadu Buhari, has said that the President inherited a terribly Read more

FG To Sell Major Stakes In Its 4 Refineries To Investors

The Federal Government has disclosed that it is in talks with some investors to give up majority stakes in the Read more